Hauraki Gulf

Hauraki Gulf

The Hauraki Gulf, a significant economic asset and one of New Zealand’s most valued resources, stretches from Mangawhai to Waihi, covering 1.2 million hectares of ocean. It has been a place of human settlement for generations and is home to a diverse range of seabirds, marine life, and unique habitats.

The Gulf generates over $2.7 billion in economic activity every year, including tourism, fishing, and aquaculture. To learn more about this national treasure, visit the Hauraki Gulf Forum page on the Auckland Council website or read their series of Gulf factsheets.

hauraki gulf N-Z

New Zealand's First Marine Park

With its rich variety of marine life, including seabirds, whales, dolphins, fisheries, and distinctive underwater ecosystems, the Hauraki Gulf is also home to over 50 islands, such as Kawau, Aotea/Great Barrier, Waiheke and Ahuahu/Great Mercury. It was recognized as New Zealand’s first marine park in 2000, owing to its national importance and features significant nature sanctuaries and five marine reserves.


Read The Plan

Join us in protecting and enhancing the Hauraki Gulf for future generations. Download the Sea Change – Tai Timu Tai Pari plan today and discover how we can work together to secure a healthy, productive, and sustainable future for this national treasure.